Three Engineering Faculty Members received Science Academy 2017 Young Scientist Awards

Three Engineering Faculty Members received Science Academy 2017 Young Scientist Awards. Asst. Professor Tolga Cukur (Electrical and Electronics Department), Asst. Professor Selim Hanay (Mechanical Engineering Department) and Asst. Professor Yildiray Yildiz (Mechanical Engineering Department) received the awards in 2017.

Nine Bilkent faculty members 0f Bilkent University were among the individuals receiving this year’s Distinguished Young Scientist (BAGEP) awards. The awards were presented at a ceremony held on April 27 at Hacettepe University’s Mehmet Akif Ersoy Hall.

The other Bilkent awardees are Asst. Prof. Yasemin Afacan, Department of Interior Architecture and Design; Asst. Prof. Hüseyin Can Aksoy, Faculty of Law;  Dr. Ayça Arslan Ergül, Institute of Materials Science and Nanotechnology, UNAM; Asst. Prof. Serkan İsmail Göktuna, Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics; Assoc. Prof. Coşkun Kocabaş, Department of Physics; and Asst. Prof. Ayşe Begüm Tekinay, Institute of Materials Science and Nanotechnology, UNAM.

The award recipients also included Bilkent graduates Asst. Prof. Aylin Aydın Çakır, Asst. Prof. Halil Mecit Öztop, Asst. Prof. Mehmet Cengiz Onbaşlı, Dr. Nurhan Özlü, Assoc. Prof. Olcay Coşkun and Assoc. Prof. Öncü Hazır. Bilkent faculty and graduates thus made up 15 of the 42 recipients this year.

A top priority for the Science Academy is encouraging the youth to engage in good science, and rewarding the best examples. In order to choose and reward the best young academics and to support them in conducting new studies, an award program was initiated in the year 2013. Science Academy runs this program not with government funding, but with the support of the society at large. The award-winning young academics are granted 10,000 TL per year for a period of two years to support them in their research. Scientists younger than 40 are eligible for the award.



Date: July 12, 2017